skip to main content
This pānui is to encourage our whānau to get involved by finding out more information, and if you have what it takes, become a candidate, and then don’t forget to vote.
Get involved – Read up and find out more. Vote 2022 campaign
Stand for election – Information for candidates
Vote for the leaders of your community. Information for voters
From 21 September 2022, you can vote in your local body elections selecting your next Mayor, Councillors and Board members to represent your voice in decisions made for your community!
Local government is how communities make democratic decisions about how their towns, cities and regions work and how they develop in the future. It refers to the activities of organisations known as local authorities – city, regional and district councils, as well as community and local boards.
While Parliament is elected to deal with issues relevant to the whole of Aotearoa New Zealand, local government enables democratic decision-making by and for, local communities.
Councils and boards have a critical role to play in supporting the resilience and prosperity of all our people, whānau and communities. Making good local decisions matter! Get involved in shaping your community!
Click here to learn about the Māori wards and constituencies
There are 78 local, regional and unitary councils (also referred to as local authorities). In the Kahungunu rohe we cross through 3 regional and 8 territorial councils. Within these councils are local community boards.
Hawke's Bay Regional Council
Manawatu-Whanganui Regional Council (Horizons)
Wellington Regional Council
Wairoa District Council
Napier City Council
Hastings District Council
Central Hawke's Bay District Council
Tararua District Council
Masterton District Council
Carterton District Council
South Wairarapa District Council
Learn more about the elections and be involved.
Key Dates:
· 15 July 2022 Candidate nominations open and roll opens for public inspection
· 12 August 2022 at 12 noon Candidate nominations close and roll closes
17 August 2022 Public notice of candidates’ names
· 16 – 21 September 2022 Voting documents delivered
· 4 October 2022 Last day for posting vote by mail. After this date votes must be returned to council’s secure ballot boxes.
· 8 October 2022 at 12 noon Election day – voting closes midday
· 8 October 2022 from 12 noon Preliminary results
· 13-19 October 2022 Declaration of results
· October/November 2022 Elected members’ swearing in ceremonies



+ Text Size -

Skip to TOP

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the server!